4 kilometres from the Lion's Mound, the Wellington Museum, located at the heart of the town of Waterloo, exhibits a large collection of artefacts dating from the time of the battle.
This former Brabant Inn is where the Duke of Wellington set up his headquarters. He lodged there on 17 and 18 June 1815. On the evening of the battle, he drafted his victory report on his campaign table. The text of this report was published in “The Times” in Britain on 22 June. It is because of this report that the battle is now known as the Battle of Waterloo.
The inn was turned into a museum in 1955 and includes a room which illustrates the successive stages of the battle with illuminated display boards. You can also explore the chambers of Wellington and his aide-de-camp, Colonel Gordon. Genuine personal artefacts that belonged to these historical figures are on display, together with old weapons and period engravings which complete the overview of the past. Other rooms are devoted to the Allied, Prussian and French armies.
Chaussée de Bruxelles, 147
B-1410 Waterloo Belgique
Tél. : +32 2 354 28 31 / www.museewellington.com